The Skibbereen and District Historical Society is based in Skibbereen, County Cork, Ireland. The Society was founded in January 2002, with the aim of encouraging interest in the history of West Cork and the Skibbereen area in particular.


The Society organises talks on various historical topics, and these talks are normally held in the West Cork Hotel, Skibbereen, on the last Thursday of the month. Field trips to historical sites are also organised during the summer. Each year, since 2005, the society has published an annual journal. For more information please visit our Journal page.

Covid 19: Since to onset of Covid 19 the Society has suspended our regular talks and outings. These will re-commence once government restrictions permit and when the Society’s management committee deem it safe to do so.


The Society is a voluntary not for profit organisation and is affiliated to the Federation of Local History Societies. The Society is governed by officers and a management committee that are elected at our AGM, which is normally held on the last Thursday of February each year.

Skibbereen & District Historical Society Officers & Committee 2023:

President: Gerald O’Brien.
Chairperson: Philip O’Regan
Secretary/PRO: Sarah Attridge
PRO: Niall O’Mahony
Treasurer: Bebeanne Carey
Vice Chairperson: William Casey
Assistant Secretary: Maura Cahalane
Assistant Treasurer: Fachtna Whooley
Committee Members: Nuala O’Halloran, Jerome Geaney, Donal O’Donovan, John O’Neill